TidePod Season 2, Episode 9: Mr. RM Trivia


Valerie Wang

The TidePod, which was started in early 2019, is currently in its fifth season. Graphic designed by Valerie Wang.

In the ninth episode of the second season of the TidePod, we hosted a trivia game between candidates for this year’s Mr. RM.

Mr. RM is an annual tradition in Richard Montgomery where senior boys compete head to head in various contests and performances to see who will ultimately be crowned Mr. RM. This is also a charity event sponsored by RM’s Student Government Association, where the money candidates collect and ticket sales are donated to Pennies for Patients, to support cancer patients across the country. This year, Mr. RM was held in the auditorium on Friday, March 6 at 7 p.m. The various competitions include a group performance, talent show, formal wear competition, and a swimwear competition. Then, audience members voted on who they’d like to elect Mr. RM, following in the candidates being narrowed down to the final five. The final five then answered questions, and the winner, Tudor Postolache, was crowned after a judging period.

In this episode, we held a friendly competition to test the candidates on their knowledge of Richard Montgomery High School history, pop culture, and general knowledge trivia. In this episode, candidates Christian Rivera, Michael Thomas, Justin Tang, Logan Turner-Mannix, and Matthew Giantelli competed on the gold team, and Rob Kearns, Eddie Rizkallah, Ethan Kwun, Pranav Tadikonda, and Freddy Martinez competed on the black team. Candidates Kevin Hrozencik, Tudor Postolache, Eric Hall, and Camber Vincent were not present.

Ella Koenig
From left to right: Seniors and Mr. RM 2020 candidates Logan Turner-Mannix, Matthew Giantelli, Rob Kearns, Justin Tang, Ethan Kwun, Freddie Martinez, Christian Rivera, Michael Thomas, and Pranav Tadikonda. Candidates Camber Vincent, Kevin Hrozencik, Eric Hall, Tudor Postolache, and Eddie Rizkallah not pictured.

You can listen to “Mr. RM Trivia” here.

Featured guests: Mr. RM 2020 candidates Christian Rivera, Michael Thomas, Justin Tang, Logan Turner, Matthew Giantelli, Rob Kearns,  Eddie Rizkallah, Freddie Martinez, Eric Hall, Ethan Kwun, and Pranav Tadikonda. Candidates Kevin Hrozencik, Tudor Postolache, and Camber Vincent was not able to make it.

This episode was hosted by Ella Koenig, the script was written by Nikki Shah and Mirula Prasad, and publicity and outreach were done by Ella Koenig.

Graphic by Valerie Wang. Music by Corrigan Peters.

Edited by Savva Brown. Produced by Grace Burwell.

You can listen to the rest of the TidePod podcast here.